Blacknessdefined’s Weblog

The Black Experience in America

Obama victory opens door to new black identity

 

Read: African or American

There is an identity crisis brewing in America.  As a Black man or woman, do you now identify yourself as simply an American or do you continue to exist or be defined by a unique label? 

Here are some thoughts expressed in the article:

We’ve taken that next step. It’s moving toward what we call universal brotherhood and sisterhood,” Robinson said after voting for Obama in his northwest Washington, D.C., neighborhood. “We shouldn’t be split and have all these divisions. That’s why I say it’s a bright day.”

L. Douglas Wilder, the first black person to be elected governor of Virginia, shares Robinson’s sense of American identity. “But I can tell you, when you say that, people take umbrage,” Wilder said. “They believe that you are dissing them, putting blacks down. I don’t have to tell you what I am, you can look at me and see that I’m not white. So what difference does it make?”

“We don’t come into this world defining ourselves,” Clyburn said. “I was born into a world that had defined limits for me. I had to sit on the back of the bus, I couldn’t attend the nearby school. My wife had to walk 2 1/2 miles to school, walk past the white school to get to the school for blacks. She didn’t define that role for herself. That role was imposed upon us.”

How do you see yourself now?

November 9, 2008 - Posted by | Black Experience, black history, family

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

