Blacknessdefined’s Weblog

The Black Experience in America

I’m ghetto and I represent my culture better than anyone

The Houston Rockets have traded for Ron Artest.  He has a reputation for being rambunctious and edgy as a player with a tendency to fight and play dirty. 

A recent rift has risen between Artest and the Houston Rocket’s Yao Ming.  Read the article and help me understand how Ron Artest represents his culture better than others.  Ron Artest was quoted as stating the following. 

“I understand what Yao said, but I’m still ghetto,” Artest said, according to the report. “That’s not going to change. I’m never going to change my culture. Yao has played with a lot of black players, but I don’t think he’s ever played with a black player that really represents his culture as much as I represent my culture. Once Yao Ming gets to know me, he’ll understand what I’m about.  Will Artest demonstrate to Yao what being Black or will he reinforce the negative stereotypes that people have.

Please help me understand how being ghetto ties into that as well.  Read the entire article.

http://sports.espn.go.com/nba/news/story?id=3512419

Ron believes Yao Ming has bought into the hype about him but isn’t it more the case that Ron believes the stereotypes about himself and the black culture. Ron equates being ghetto as being more of a black man than not being ghetto.  What is the relationship between being ghetto and black?  Read the article please.

Ron Artest is also an aspiring rapper.  Would this also enhance is ghettoness and blackness simultaneously?  People often see you as you see yourself.  As well as sometimes people live up to or down to expectations.   Is Ron Artest an example of this self destructiveness that stems from oppression or is he simply a fool?

July 31, 2008 - Posted by | Black Experience

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

